Call us 01747 813111

Book A Visit



We welcome applications to Clayesmore Prep throughout the year and into different year groups.

Children swiftly become part of a solid friendship group and quickly assimilate to the Prep routines. They feel at home in no time at all, whether they join our day or boarding community and we love seeing the happy faces of our new pupils as they participate in lessons and activities throughout the day.

  • test
We ask pupils joining Year 6 and above to undertake assessment tests so that we are able to gauge the level at which they are working. These assessments should not cause children concern and can't be prepared for, so please don't let your children worry about these during the admissions process.

You can find out more about Prep admissions by clicking on the menu items on the bar to the right.

If you have any questions or want to find out more, then please contact we will be very happy to help.

Clayesmore Governors and Staff

Our Governors and Staff

Clayesmore’s affairs are governed by the Council of Clayesmore, chaired, at the present time by Mr John Andrews, a lawyer and former parent.

The governors represent, between them, a considerable range of skills, interests, professions and backgrounds and include at the present time a number who are former pupils and parents. They all share a very deep commitment to the wellbeing of Clayesmore, its pupils, its staff, and its future. The full Council meets every term as do all its sub-committees.

Council of Governors

Mr John Andrews LLB (and Chairman of F&GP)

Mrs Rosie Stiven MA

Mrs Sally Wilson BA, MA Ed, PGCE

Mrs Julia Brown MSc
Mrs Fran Deeming BA, PGCE
Mr David Haywood MA, PGCE
Mrs Jane Howard BA

Mr Tim Ingram MA, MBA, FCIB
Mr Dayle Kirby BA, PGCE
Mr Richard Shaw BA, Dip Urb Des, MRTPI
Mr Mike Sussman BSc, MBA, CEng, MIET
Mrs Fiona Waller BEd

Mr Roger Kingwill BSc, MS

If for any reason you would like to contact the Chair, Mr Andrews directly, you can do so by writing to him at the school's registered office which is: Clayesmore School, Iwerne Minster, Blandford Forum, DT11 8LL.


Mrs J Thomson, BA (QTS), MBA, FRSA

If for any reason you would like to contact the Head, you can do so by writing to Mrs J Thomson, Clayesmore School. Iwerne Minster, Blandford Forum, DT11 8LL or you can email or you can call 01747 813111


Senior Leadership Team
Senior Deputy  Mr JR Carpenter BA
Deputy Head (Pastoral) Mrs SJ Newland BSc, PGCE
Deputy Head (Academic) Mrs N Jones BSc, PGCE
Director of Studies (Yr 3-8) Mrs SL Hart BA, PGCE, MEd
Assistant Head (Yr 3-6) Mrs C Townsend MA, PGCE
Assistant Head (Yr 7-8) Mr D Browse BA, MEd, QTS
Assistant Head (Middle Years and Teaching & Learning) Mrs H Perrett BA, PGCE
Assistant Head (Sixth Form) Mrs HRB Hay BA, PGCE
Assistant Head (Co-curricular & LEX) Mr G King BSc, MSc, PGCE
Director of Academic Progress (Yr 9-13) Mr JA Reach BEng
Chaplain Mr AR West  BA, MA PGCE
Senior Master Mr D Rimmer MA
Director of Finance and Operations  Mrs N Bailey Phinn BA, FCA


Mr James Carpenter            Mrs Nina Bailey Phinn

Senior Deputy                       Director of Finance & Operations

Related Downloads

Prep Registration Form

View on Talk Education

In this section

Register For Our Open Morning

Come and visit Clayesmore to experience first hand our warm, friendly culture and find out more about our excellent educational and pastoral ethos.

Register Now

Clayesmore School, Iwerne Minster, Blandford, Dorset. DT11 8LL.

Clayesmore School (HMC, IAPS, ISBA) is a registered company in England and Wales registered at Iwerne Minster, Blandford, Dorset, DT11 8LL.

(Registered Company No: 359779 – Charity Registration No: 306214 – VAT No: 186834226). Site & content © 2021 Clayesmore School. All rights reserved.

Education Websites by AztecMedia