Governors and Staff

Clayesmore’s affairs are governed by the Council of Clayesmore, chaired, at the present time by Mr John Andrews, a lawyer and former parent.

The governors represent, between them, a considerable range of skills, interests, professions and backgrounds and include at the present time a number who are former pupils and parents. They all share a very deep commitment to the wellbeing of Clayesmore, its pupils, its staff, and its future. The full Council meets every term as do all its sub-committees.

Council of Governors

  • Mr J Andrews, LLB (Chairman & Chairman of F&GP)
  • Mr P Dallyn, FRICS, FAAV (Vice Chairman)
  • Mrs F Deeming, BA, PGCE
  • Mr D Haywood, MA, FRGS (Senior School Education Committee Chair)
  • Mrs J Howard, BA
  • Mr T Ingram, MA, MBA, FCIB
  • Mr R Shaw, BA, Dip Urb Des, MRTPI
  • Mrs R Stiven, MA
  • Major General J Stokoe, CB, CBE
  • Mr M Sussman
  • Mr S Symonds BA ED (Prep School Education Committee Chair)
  • Mrs S Wilson, BA, MA Ed, PGCE

Emeritus Council Members

  • Mr RC Kingwill, BSc, MS
  • Mrs JH Lidsey

If for any reason you would like to contact Mr Andrews directly, you can do so by writing to him at the school address.


Head – Mrs J Thomson, BA (QTS), MBA, FRSA

Senior School Senior Leadership Team
Senior Deputy  Mr JR Carpenter BA
Deputy Head (Pastoral) Mrs EM Bailey BA, PGCE
Assistant Head (Personal Development) Mrs H Christmas BA, PGCE
Assistant Head (Teaching & Learning) Mrs A Cowley BSc, MEd, DipSpLD, AMDBA
Assistant Head (Middle Years) Mr M McKeown BA, PGCE
Assistant Head (Planning and Organisation) Mr MI Newland MA, PGCE
Assistant Head (Sixth Form)  Mrs SJ Newland BSc, PGCE
Director of Academic Progress Mr JA Reach BEng
Chaplain Mr AR West BA, MA
Director of Finance and Operations Mrs A Hughes BSc ACA
Prep School Senior Leadership Team
Head of Prep School Mr W Dunlop, BA, PGCE, FColIT
Deputy Head & Head of Boarding Mr DJ Browse, BA, QTS
Deputy Head Academic Mrs EL Reach, BEd, CertSpLD
Assistant Head (Teaching and Learning) Mrs A Cowley BSc, MEd, DipSpLD, AMDBA
Head of Pre-Prep and Nursery Mrs C Townsend, MA, PGCE
Director of Finance and Operations Mrs A Hughes BSc ACA

Clayesmore Senior School Staff List – Autumn Term 2018

Clayesmore Prep School Staff List – Summer Term 2018